2017 National Election Results Announced


Dear Colleagues,

NAFSA’s 2017 national election concluded at midnight on September 30, 2017, and on October 3, as chair of NAFSA’s Governance Committee I reported the election results to the Board of Directors, and the Leadership Development Committee. The list of the elected leaders who will begin their terms in January 2018 is given below. My heartiest congratulations to the members of our future leadership team!

I would like to extend my deepest appreciation to many individuals. First, I thank all those individuals that allowed their names to be considered for leadership positions. Your willingness to contribute your time in service of NAFSA speaks to your commitment to our organization.

Thanks also to the member leaders on the Governance and Leadership Development Committees tasked with identifying and vetting potential candidates under the NAFSA bylaws. These committee members work diligently over the course of the year to review the open positions, seek nominations, and interview candidates to ensure diverse perspectives and skills are represented on the slate.

Finally, my big thanks to all NAFSA members that participated in this process by voting, nominating colleagues, or participating in the application and vetting process. Please begin thinking about colleagues to nominate for leadership positions when the call for nominations for the following year goes out in January 2018.

With appreciation,

Britta Baron
Secretary of the Corporation, Chair of the Governance Committee, NAFSA Board of Directors

2018 Elected Leaders

Vice President, Scholarship and Institutional Strategy

  • Jeff Riedinger, Vice Provost for Global Affairs and Professor of Law, University of Washington

Board of Directors, Member-at-Large

  • Barry Morris, Chief Global Strategist and Senior International Officer, University of Central Florida
  • Joel A. Gallegos, Assistant Provost for International Programs, University of North Carolina – Charlotte
  • James Dorsett, Director of the Office for International Students and Scholars, Michigan State University
  • Nelson W. Cunningham, President and Cofounder, McLarty Associates

Chair-elect, Education Abroad Knowledge Community

  • Karen McBride, Director of Education Abroad and Partnerships, University of Dayton

Chair-elect, International Education Leadership Knowledge Community

  • Jane Gatewood, Vice Provost for Global Engagement, University of Rochester

Chair-elect, International Enrollment Management Knowledge Community

  • Dana Brolley, Director of International Recruitment, Seattle University

Chair-elect, Knowledge Community for International Student and Scholar Services

  • Jenifer Ruby, Director of International Student and Scholar Services, Rollins College

Chair-elect, Teaching, Learning, and Scholarship Knowledge Community

  • Sora Friedman, Professor and Co-Chair of International Education, SIT Graduate Institute

Chair-elect, Leadership Development Committee

  • Katie Davidson, Director of the International Center, University of North Dakota

Chair-elect, Membership Engagement Committee
*Appointed April 2018 per NAFSA Standing Rules change

  • Jill Izumikawa, Coordinator for International Student Services, Harper College