Lily von Klemperer Award


Logo Lily von KlempererAt NAFSA's 1988 annual conference, Lilian von Klemperer herself was the very first recipient of the Lily von Klemperer Award. Lily was founder of the education abroad profession during the mid-twentieth century and for years continued to be a true mainstay for the growing numbers of professionals in that new field. The inspiration, guidance, and training that Lily provided to all in education abroad is impossible to overestimate.

It was understood in 1988 that the award would eventually be presented in Lily's name at NAFSA annual conferences to worthy education abroad professionals who are seen still to have years to devote to the profession. The "LvK" Award seeks to recognize people who, like Lily, have "brought other [education abroad professionals] along" in the field and who maintain the highest standards of professional ethics while sharing their skills, knowledge, and expertise with all colleagues.

2017 Recipient

Mandy ReinigThe 2017 Lily von Klemperer Award was presented to Mandy Reinig, Virginia Wesleyan University, during the 69th NAFSA Annual Conference in Los Angeles, California.

Supporting Praise

"Mandy has a deep understanding of what it takes to work in this field with limited resources, she has supported one-person or smaller offices and has offered formal support in the form of presentations and informal mentorship and guidance. Her contributions include risk management education and also responding to crisis in an active social media environment."

"Mandy is always eager to support new professionals in the field and professionals at any level who may benefit from her knowledge and experience."

"During the two years we worked together on the Network, I was amazed at her responsiveness, her follow through, and her overall commitment to the goals of the Network and NAFSA. Her primary concern was not herself or her ideas but what would best serve the field."

Past Recipients

Past recipients of the LvK award (and their professional affiliations at the time of the award) are:

  • 2016 Christina Breakell, Williams College
  • 2015 BJ Titus, University of Minnesota
  • 2014 Mark Lenhart, CET Academic Programs
  • 2013 Levi Brautigan, Villanova University
  • 2012 David Wick, San Francisco State University
  • 2011 Brad Stepan, Denmark Institute for Study Abroad
  • 2010 Natalie Mello, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • 2009 Cori Filson, Skidmore College
  • 2008 Joël A. Gallegos, University of North Carolina-Charlotte
  • 2007 Lance Kenney, Villanova University
  • 2006 Martha Johnson, University of Minnesota
  • 2005 Steven Seaworth, Butler University
  • 2004 Stephen Ferst, Rutgers University
  • 2003 Randall Martin Simon, Fraser University, Canada
  • 2002 Art Neisberg, University of Cincinnati
  • 2000 Nancy Ericksen, Trinity University
  • 1999 Cindy Chalou, Michigan State University
  • 1998 Susan Thompson, University of Nevada-Las Vegas
  • 1997 Anji Yucas, University of Pittsburgh
  • 1996 Ned Quigley, Boston University
  • 1995 Margery Ganz, Spelman College
  • 1995 Mickey Slind, University of Idaho
  • 1994 Jim Gehlhar, University of Tennessee
  • 1993 Steve Cooper, Louisiana State University
  • 1991 Nancy Stubbs, University of Colorado
  • 1988 Lily von Klemperer


Criteria & Instructions

Deadline: May 1, 2018

Send applications to:

Related Awards

The Education Abroad Leadership Award is given to members whose records of distinguished service to the education abroad profession exceeds 15 years.