Hugh Jenkins Award


Hugh Jenkins Logo

The Hugh M. Jenkins Award for Excellence in Community Programming recognizes individuals who have demonstrated a commitment to promoting global understanding and international exchange in the local community. Specifically, it honors people who exemplify a spirit of volunteerism and a long-term dedication to international exchange. The award identifies individuals whose leadership encompasses outstanding skills in recruiting, training, and recognizing community volunteers. It is also intended to reward personal involvement with international students in the local community.

Selection Criteria

The nominee must have:

  • commitment to promoting global understanding and providing for international exchange in the local community;
  • spirit of volunteerism and a long-term commitment to international education and exchange;
  • excellence in leadership for recruiting, training, and recognizing community volunteers;
  • active participation with internationals in the local community.

Nominating Procedures

All ISSS members are invited to submit nominations for the award.

Each nominee must have the following:

  • one primary nomination form
  • at least one additional reference (their name, organization/institution, daytime phone number, and e-mail address)
  • a copy of the nominee's professional CV/resume

The deadline to submit a nomination has passed.


2017 Sue Rohrer and Sharon Ogilvie 

The 2017 Hugh M. Jenkins Award for Excellence in Community Programming was awarded to Mrs. Sue Rohrer and Mrs. Sharon Ogilvie for their dedication to promoting global understanding between international students and scholars in their Lancaster, Pennsylvania community for 25 and 13 years, respectively. Each year, 30-40 international university students are hosted by Lancaster area families to experience a traditional American Thanksgiving and learn about life and culture in this rural community. This meaningful exchange is made possible due to the commitment of Sue and Sharon and the support of the One To World Program based in New York. Both Sue and Sharon initially began their involvement as host families and were so touched by the experience that they volunteered to grow the program and recruit friends and community members to serve as hosts. Sue Rohrer took over coordinating the program in 1991. In 2003, Sharon Ogilvie volunteered to work with Sue in order to expand their outreach and bring more families into the program, enabling One To World to serve twice as many international students. Both Sue and Sharon work year-round to promote the program in their respective communities, hosting fundraisers and introducing the program to potential new hosts. They also travel to New York City, at their own expense, the weekend before Thanksgiving to meet each student who has registered to participate, prepare them for the weekend, and ensure that they have been matched with an appropriate family. Throughout the four-day program, in addition to hosting students, they serve as primary points of contact to ensure that each person has the best possible experience. Their unwavering commitment to international exchange and cultural understanding has helped more than 1,000 international students experience American hospitality and has also exposed more than 150 families in Lancaster, PA, to students from all over the world.

View all of the Hugh Jenkins Award recipients.


Deadline: April 30, 2018

Past Recipients

The Hugh M. Jenkins Award for Excellence

Participate Now

Explore the ISSS professional networks